Professor Heikki Ruskoaho (Finland) is the BCPT Nordic Prize 2020 winner

Professor Heikki Ruskoaho from the University of Helsinki has been awarded the BCPT Nordic prize in Basic & Clinical Pharmacology & Toxicology for 2020. The prize is awarded to Heikki Ruskoaho in recognition of his outstanding contributions to pharmacology for more than 30 years. See announcement from Thomas Kongstad Petersen, the Chairman of the Nordic Association for the Publication of BCPT

Professor Anton Pottegård (Denmark) is the BCPT Young Researcher Nordic Prize winner 2020

Professor Anton Pottegård from University of Southern Denmark has been awarded the BCPT Young Researcher Nordic Prize in Basic & Clinical Pharmacology & Toxicology for 2020. The prize is awarded to Anton Pottegård in recognition of his outstanding contributions to pharmacology. See announcement from Niels Jessen, the Chairman of Danish Society for Pharmacology. 


The European Certification of Pharmacologists (European Certified Pharmacology, EuCP)

The European Certified Pharmacologist (EuCP) is an initiative promoted and sustained by EPHAR. The Italian Society of Pharmacology has recently published the guidelines on how to apply. To promote the EuCP certification and the activation of the EuCP procedure among the national societies belonging to EPHAR, a presentation of the program of SIF have been made. For more details and guidelines you can find further information by clicking on this link.

2019 EPHAR Council

The 2019 EPHAR Council that will take place in Stockholm on July 1 at 13.00 (planned duration 2hrs). The meeting will be held in the conference venue of the 14th EACPT Congress Delegates that will participate only to the EPHAR Council will be allowed to enter the venue on the day of the meeting (July 1) without requiring registration to the EACPT conference.
Few of our members have already sent their delegates to the Council. I would like to ask those societies that have not done so to send us information about their delegate(s) to please do so by emailing names and contact details (at least email). Please send the information about the delegates to myself, and Cc the EPHAR Secretariat (
Once again I would like to urge all of our member societies to identify participants of the EACPT Congress that are willing to act as delegates so that we have the highest possible participation.

Hope to see you in Stockholm,
Andreas Papapetropoulos
Secretary General EPHAR

EPHAR 2020 congress in Prague
EPHAR still solicits proposals by member National Societies in organizing events (symposia, satellite symposia, sponsored sessions and plenary lectures) on a topic of your society’s interest.

A standard symposium will include one chairman and 4 speakers, with at least 2 of the speakers coming from a country different from that of the proposing society.  The Congress will cover accommodation for 2 nights in a congress hotel for the speakers, while the proposing national society would be responsible for covering all the other expenses of the speakers and the chairperson, including travel expenses and congress registration. There is no fee associated with organizing a symposium.

Please, find simple proposal template to be filled in. Preliminary proposals should be send by June 15, 2019 or at your earliest convenience. Please address your proposals to email:

BCPT Nordic Prize

The deadline for submission of proposals for this year’s BCPT Nordic Prize in pharmacology and toxicology is approaching.

To date, eight outstanding scientists have received the prize, namely Professor Pertti J. Neuvonen, Finland (2011), Professor Michael J. Mulvany, Denmark (2012), Professor Folke Sjöqvist, Sweden (2013), Professor Olavi Pelkonen, Finland (2014), Professor Philippe Grandjean, Denmark (2015), Professor Jan Alexander, Norway (2016), Professor Thue W. Schwartz, Denmark (2017) and Professor Magnus Ingelman-Sundberg, Sweden (2018).

The conditions for being considered as a BCPT prize winner are attached, and the journal encourages both member societies and individual members to submit motivated proposals for prize winner candidates.

Proposals should be emailed to Henrik Horneberg, no later than 1 August 2019. The decision about the 2019 prize winner will be made at the BCPT Annual Meeting on 13 September 2019 and announced directly afterwards. The prize amounts to 10,000 Euro.


Magnus Ingelman-Sundberg is awarded the 2018 BCPT Nordic Prize in Basic and Clinical Pharmacology and Toxicology
The Nordic Association for the publication of “Basic & Clinical Pharmacology & Toxicology” has awarded the BCPT Nordic Prize in Basic and Clinical Pharmacology and Toxicology for 2018 to Professor Magnus Ingelman-Sundberg, Karolinska Institute (KI), Stockholm, Sweden

Obituary – Professor Arvid Carlsson (25 January 1923 to 29 June 2018)
On 29 June 2018, the greatest and most important Nordic pharmacologist of all times and Nobel prize winner Arvid Carlsson died. An obituary have been  published in the November issue of the Nordic scientific journal Basic & Clinical Pharmacology & Toxicology.